Council Members

Prof. Dulacha Galgallo Barako - Council Chairman

Dr.Dulacha Galgallo BarakoProf. Barako is Assistant Director & Head of Academic Division at the Kenya School of Monetary. He was previously Principal Researcher and Head of Financial Sector Analysis at Research Centre – Kenya School of Monetary Studies. He completed his Ph.D. at the University of Western Australia, Perth, Australia. He previously taught at the Curtin Business School, Curtin University of Technology, Australia, and served as an adjunct Professor at Curtin Business School, School of Accounting for 2009/2010 academic year. As an adjunct Professor, he actively engaged in collaborative research projects.

Read More


Mrs. Sophia Yiega -  Council Member

 Mrs. Sophia Yiega1Ms. Sophia holds a B.Ed (Geography, History & Education) and M.Ed (Psychology) from Kenyatta University. Currently, she is working in a team of 12 advisors to offer capacity building services to the District level organizations. She has fourteen years of experience, seven of which with the Government and the other ten with NGOs in Community Development.  She has held several positions in different organizations including as an Education Advisor for SNV Netherlands Development, Education Coordinator at Daadab Refugee Camp, Capacity Building Facilitator for Concern World Wide, Community Development Facilitator for Action Aid International and a Zonal Inspector for the Ministry of Education.

Eng. John Kisenga  - Council Member

Eng. John KisengaEng. Kisenga holds a Bachelor Degree in Electrical Engineering from University of Nairobi and an M.Sc. degree in Digital Communication System from Loughborough University in United Kingdom.  He is a member of various professional associations including the Engineers Registration Board and the Institution of Engineers in Kenya, Kenya Bureau of Standards, Seminars Committee of IEK, the Electrical Industry Standards Committee, the National Maritime Master Plan Drafting Committee, Regional African Satellite Broadcasting National Committee among others. He has held a wide range of appointments including serving in the Council of the Western University College of Science and Technology, member of the technical teams at Telkom Kenya and Smithkline Beecham and in various engineering capacities at Telkom Kenya.
Read More

Prof. Eng. P.N.Kioni - Vice Chancellor 

Prof. R. Eng. P.N. Kioni

Prof. P. Ndirangu Kioni is serving as the first Vice-Chancellor of Dedan Kimathi University of Technology (DeKUT) following its upgrading to a fully fledged university by award of Charter on 14th December 2012.  
He was at Cambridge University, England, where he got a Doctor of Philosophy degree, in 1994. He took his undergraduate studies at the University of Nairobi (UoN), where he obtained First Class honours, Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering in 1988, along the way winning the General Motors Prize for the top student, a position he had maintained every year throughout the programme. After leaving UoN, he worked as a Plant Engineer at Unilever Kenya Limited, formerly East Africa Industries Ltd, where he obtained his first experiential training in engineering before proceeding for further studies in 1990.   He attended Alliance High School for his A-level education where he took Math, Further Math, Chemistry and Physics as principal subjects and got nationally outstanding results which earned him the famed Gandhi Nidhi Smarak Award which, in the year, was given to the  five best students in the country.

Read More

Mr. Irshad Ibrahim - Council Member

altMr. Irshad holds a B.A in Political Science, BSc. in Economics and an M.Sc degree in Economics. He has over 10 years of senior level management experience with various Regional and International development agencies.  He has served in different organizations including the Kenya Commercial Bank, the British Broadcasting Corporation, WAMY, Health Unlimited (UK) and Direct Aid International.  He has also participated in several professional trainings including project management, strategic management and corporate governance.

Ms. Mercy Mwatua  - Council Member

Mercy Mwatua

Ms. Mercy Mwatua holds a Bachelor of Science Accounting from Tuskegee  University, USA  and an MBA (Strategic Management) from University of Nairobi and a Certified SAP Consulting in Accounting and Controlling Certificate Course from South Africa. She has held various professional positions at Kenya Power & Lighting Co. which include: Principal Accountant for the Fixed Asset Register, Regional Finance Officer, Coastal Region, IFS System Administrator; team member of the Business Reorganization Consulting Group and the Institutional Strengthening Project. She also served as a Senior Auditor in Ministry of Cooperative for four years.

Mr. Justus Mutabari Mutiga -  Council Member

Mr. Justus Mutabari Mutiga

Mr. Mutiga holds a B.ED degree from University of Nairobi, Postgraduate Diploma in Actuarial Science, and a Diploma in Education.  He is currently the Chief Executive Officer, ICEA Lion Insurance and has held several other appointments including Director, Insurance Institute of Kenya, Member, Life Insurance Council and Association of Kenya Insurers, Examiner and Curriculum Developer College of Insurance, Member, Association of Retirement Benefits Schemes.  He also served in various capacities at the Kenya National Assurance Company. He holds several professional memberships including fellow of the Chartered Insurance Institute (London), Fellow Insurance Institute of Kenya, Member Society of Financial Advisers (UK),




Subscribe to receive DeKUT Newsletters